Things My Mother Taught Me – the Shania Twain edition.

Shania Twain is undeniably my favourite Pop singer.

Shania Twain Announces 2012 Caesars Palace Las Vegas Run

As one of the most commercially successful artists of all time, having sold over 80 million albums, she is well deserving of both her Canada and Hollywood Stars of Fame. I am immediately soothed when watching her perfect face on YouTube videos…that’s no exaggeration. In 2009, Twain was rated as having the ‘Perfect Face’ by scientists based on the Golden Ratio. She is a talented, beautiful individual that has worked hard for her success.

However, my love for Shania Twain blossomed before I even realised what she was singing about. Her first album released when I was 3 years old and her messages of love, support and honesty became a part of me.

My mother was never a singer. Instead she preferred whispering softly along with the cassette player in the car thinking no one was listening. On some days, while my father was at work and my siblings away, I have the fondest memories of her letting her guard down and belting out a beautiful 90s Pop melody. Not only did my mother ignite the passion to sing loud and proud, but taught me how to love through the beautiful melodies written and sung by Shania Twain.

Here are the things my Mother taught me, with the help of Shania Twain:
dont2

  1. Don’t Settle – That Don’t Impress Me Much
    I can’t believe you kiss your car good night
    C’mon baby tell me-you must be jokin’, right!
    Who doesn’t feel empowered by the upbeat tempo as Shania Twain explains to her suitors that just because you think you’re cool, doesn’t mean you are. And she manages to do it in the nicest possible way! (“Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright”). This song taught me that it’s okay to like other people than society might define as attractive, AND to be assertive about what and who you want in a partner. You don’t need to have a guy around to be happy. Never settle.any man
  1. Don’t Change For Anyone But Yourself – Any Man Of Mine
    Any man of mine better be proud of me
    Even when I’m ugly he still better love me
    If someone tells you to be a different way, tell them to take a hike! You are your own person and are allowed to make your own decisions. Especially if you are planning to love and live with this person! Who wants to be told to look or dress a certain way? Celebrate your uniqueness, and if someone doesn’t like that – you don’t need that negativity in your life. (This song is undeniably 90s and so fun to bootscootin’ shimmy to! Try it!)get
  2. Be Assertive – I’m Gonna Get You Good
    Don’t wantcha for the weekend, don’t wantcha for a night
    I’m only interested if I can have you for life
    If you want something – go and get it. If you want someone – tell them. If you love something – cherish it. Your needs and desires are just as important as anyone else’s, so why shouldn’t you actually go for the things you want in life?from
  3. Love Completely – From This Moment
    From this moment as long as I live
    I will love you, I promise you this
    There is nothing I wouldn’t give
    If you love someone, love them like the world is ending. Let them know. Love is a powerful, wonderful feeling that can create happiness. Be it the love of a partner, child, mother, or brother – From This Moment taught me the importance of loving wholly and completely. Love as long as you live.forever
  4. Love Someone Who Loves You Back – Forever And For Always
    I know how much you miss me
    I can feel your love for me in your heart
    What is the point of loving completely if you are not loved in return? Just as we deserve to be with someone we love, we deserve to be with someone who unquestionably loves us in return. This was a lesson that took a little bit longer for me to learn, but the love of my Mother helped me find clarity amidst a heartbreak. I listen to this song and feel warmth knowing that I deserve to feel the same love Shania sings about. And to my current partner – I feel that love.still
  5. Celebrate Your Love – Still The One
    They said, “I bet they’ll never make it”
    But just look at us holding on
    We’re still together still going strong

    Master of love Ballads, Still the One is a declaration of love and happiness. It’s okay to love someone others may disagree with. If someone else makes you happy, and a better version of yourself – explore that. Love is blind. Love is unbiased. Love is honest. If I listened to people when I started my relationship, I wouldn’t be creating a future with the love of my life. One of those who supported us was of course, my Mother… Isn’t she a smart one?man
  1. Be Yourself – Man I Feel Like A Woman
    We don’t need romance-we only wanna dance
    We’re gonna let our hair hang down
    The best thing about being a woman really IS our prerogative to have a little fun! I’m allowed to dance if I want to, I’m allowed to wear a short skirt if I feel like it, I am allowed to embrace my sexuality. There is nothing wrong with doing what makes you happy, dressing and colouring our hair just how you want to (something my mother supported during my very awkward 13 year old emotional crisis…). Embrace your femininity, explore your personality. Do what you want to do.up
  2. It Gets Better – Up
    When everything is goin’ wrong
    Don’t worry, it won’t last for long
    Yeah, it’s all gonna come around
    Don’t go let it get you down
    My favourite ‘get happy’ song! Up is a upbeat, positive pop song that just reminds you to take it easy. We all have bad days, but that doesn’t mean that life is bad. We just need to remind ourselves not to take everything so seriously and have fun!

 

In times of crisis ask yourself: What Would Shania Do?

Thanks Mum, for your excellent taste in 90s pop divas.

Leave a Reply

