Gluten Free Week 2: PMS is Less!

pms

From horrible mood swings, acne outbreaks and fights left right and centre, my PMS has always been hard to reign in. Spending most of my teenage life in a house of 3 girls, I quickly learnt how to realise when a mood swing was caused by premenstrual syndrome. However, I never quite figured out how to make it stop or swing right back out of the sad lump I found myself in.

PMS is something that almost 75% of women experience all to varying degrees (that 25% of you – oh how envious I am!) yet it is something maybe only the closest of friends talk about in privacy. For some including myself, PMS can last almost 2 weeks of every month and often the remaining 2 weeks is left to repair emotional and physical damage our lovely little hormones leave us with. Let’s talk.

pmsTime of the month for me is atrocious. I fight migraines and headaches daily, I break out in blemishes along my jawline, I am on an emotional rollercoaster as I swing from being insulted by every second thing my partner says to being a sad, sorry mess and wanting nothing more than a cuddle. In all honesty, almost all of the “big” fights I have had with my partner have fallen during my PMS week (coincidence, unlikely). My weight shifts as I indulge my feelings in not-too-good for me foods. This then leads to my own self resentment as not only am I unhappy with these recent changes in my normally very happy perception of myself, but the fact I know that every month this happens and I am so overwhelmed with emotions I am incapable to change it. I am tired, sad and angry 90% of the time while enjoying the delightful ride of PMS. It is not fun!

This month though, now finished Week 2 of my 100% Gluten Free lifestyle, a miracle happened! Well, not exactly a miracle – but for me it seemed very comparable. About half of my regular PMS symptoms didn’t turn up to say hello this month. I haven’t started a completely irrelevant arguement with my partner (he’s probably over the moon about this one), I’ve not indulged in terrible foods and felt sorry for myself, and I’ve not broken out in blemishes for the first time since I was 12! Isn’t it funny how things are all connected? Or really, you’d think I would have done something sooner considering just how many articles say gluten is linked to PMS.

I’m not expecting the headaches to go away, and I think it might be a few months of gluten free before I being to see my sadness and anxiety fade during PMS weeks, but I am overwhelmed at how much better I feel, when previously I would be a ball on the floor in a blubbering mess.

Although, every replacement for TimTams and Milo I have come across so far, just isn’t the same. That might be a much longer, harder journey…and here comes the sadness again…

🙂

2 Comments

  1. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, annd found that it’s really informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate iff you continue this
    in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  2. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He
    was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time
    I had spent for thhis information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

