Life is a series of thresholds

Every few months this statement returns to the forefront of my mind.

It was a simple phrase my now fiancee once said to me when we were merely acquaintances.

“Life is a series of thresholds, and it is up to us to either slide through whatever happens in life or decide exactly what you want to do with your life.”

When I first heard this, I was stuck in a rut, and unaware of how unhappy I was. One evening, I was picking someone up from a closing shift at their job.It was raining outside and I wore my lose maroon jumper that I would wear that reminded me of the feature tiles in the bathroom of my childhood home. The song Just Give Me a Reason by P!nk featuring Nate Ruess played on the radio for the first time, and without making a sound, I burst into tears. Yet, I talked to no one about my overwhelming sadness. Each day felt like I was mourning a part of me that had disappeared somewhere along the way of doing what I thought I was supposed to. Those words struck a chord in my heart, and I knew I wasn’t satisfied.

I reflect on this day as the beginning of the end of my youth. I am still young, yes, but this was the moment I can see I began to grow up because I desperately wanted to, not because I was being forced or expected to. I was finally being honest with myself, and the weeks and months that followed were filled with challenges and confrontations I shudder to remember…

But the biggest thing I learned was that every heartache was worth the pain as I welcomed myself back to life.

My fiancee was right. Life does not change unless we put ourselves in uncomfortable situations and make it change. Things do not magically sort themselves out – we must fight for what is right and what is just. If we want to make something of ourselves, we have to put down our mobile phones and actually move into action. There is no use waiting and planning for “one day,” what is a better day than today? What is honestly stopping you from working towards what you want out of life?

Life is a series of thresholds. Whenever there is a boundary or obstacle, we must fight to overcome it. While sliding through life is the easier option, taking things as they come and accepting what is given to you – deciding to be exactly who you want to be is undeniably the more rewarding life. While I’m not naive and know there are limitations on our achievements, we can still carve a path you are proud of every day if you work towards living. You are the most important person in your life, so spend half as much time on yourself as you spend on other people and maybe you will realise just how incredible and worthy of love, life and happiness you are. Take care of yourself first and foremost.

Today, I am choosing to continue through the next threshold, no matter how difficult it may be.

Leave a Reply

